Autism: A Different View

Dear No One,

I love staying home with Daxon. I mean I really, REALLY love it. There is nothing else I would rather do.

Before we had Daxon, though, I worked in a school with children with autism, and I miss my kiddos from school every day. I miss the challenge. I miss never knowing how my day was going to go. I miss watching them learn.

Most of all, though, I miss their snuggles and giggles. Yes. Snuggles. I know. You are probably thinking, “I thought they don’t like to be touched.” I have heard that from so many people. That my job couldn’t have been as fun or rewarding as working with typically developing children because they don’t give you anything in return. There is nothing further from the truth though.

My work with children with autism was the most rewarding job I have ever had. Yes, sometimes I got ignored, hit, kicked, bit. Other times, though, I got to watch a child go from not wanting anyone near them to crawling onto my lap and asking for tickles over and over AND over. How is that not rewarding?!?

Why am I writing about this? Today is World Autism Day. I just couldn’t get my mind off of my students today, so I wanted to give a little love to some of the kids who will have a piece of my heart forever.

I, by no means, know everything about autism. No one does. “If you’ve met one individual with autism, you’ve met one individual with autism.” – Stephen Shore

Every child I worked with was completely different. One thing I found with them all, though, was they craved our love and attention. It is not that they do not want to be a part of your world or want your love, they just need more assistance in learning how to enter into situations and communicate their needs and wants.

There is no better feeling than earning their trust and watching them open their world to let you in. I’m not going to sit and list out bullet points on what you need to know. Just know that they are beautiful souls that just see our world in a different light. If you ever get the chance, stop and take a look from their point of view. You will learn a lot.

 

All my love,

Betsy

2 thoughts on “Autism: A Different View

  1. annastinadavenport says:

    I have a dear friend that has a son on the spectrum. She has an older daughter that I have mentored for 10 year now. It has always been said that if something happened to my friend, her daughter would come and live with me. A couple months ago I asked her about her son. With tears in her eyes, she told me no one wanted him because of his special needs. I just looked at her in shock. I asked if she was serious, She said not even her parents would take him. I just looked at her and said I would never take her daughter and just leave behind her son behind to go into the system. It hurt how shocked she was that her son would be OK if something happened to her. People need to educate themselves. I’m so proud of all the work you have done and everything you are doing with Daxon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

